Courage

 photo DSCN2179_zpsb1e9548e.jpg

 

Courage. My first tattoo. I always believed that if you write or draw something on your body for the rest of your life has to be something with a huge meaning to you. Maybe not immediate for the ones who see it, but definitely part of your life. What this tattoo means to me? Well, I’ve been throughout a very bad period. I’d lost the faith in the world I live in and even if I was completely sure of how great I am, well I was scared of all the rest. I’ve been throughout anxiety and insomnia and for a long period I’ve closed it all inside me. Then a day my dad saw me crying for an exam that I was going to have the day after, an exam very well prepared believe me, and he looked me in the eyes and he just said ‘you’re the bravest person I’ve ever met’. That made me shaken. It was like everything that was forcing me not to think clearly was vanished. And I remembered. I remembered all the things I’ve been throughout all my life, a lot of bad things, and how everytime I make it all by myself, or better me and my courage. You’ll never see me asking for help and in that moment I’ve understand why, because I’m conscious of my big, BIG courage that makes me feel like I can do anything. So here’s my biggest motivation for this tattoo. Anxiety is a monster, and will never die, so one day, if it come back, I’ll look at myslef in the mirror and I’ll win again. But actually is not just that. There is more in this tattoo. Starting from the language: I really like the fact that you can read it both in english and french, but for me is mostly french. Why? In all this I wanted also to celebrate my love for Paris and France in general, land that I know very well. I don’t even remember how many times I was there so is why I call it my home away from home. As you’ve maybe read in my posts about Paris, everytime I go there I fall in love more than the time before and I get completely lost, I forget about ‘real life’ and I close myself in a magical, romantic, artistic world that I found only there. And what about French? I can fluently read and speak this language and even if in high school I’ve hated it, after getting my diploma, I did understand that the only thing I hated was my french teacher, and I’ve completely fallen in love with it. And I onestly say some of my favourite writers and poets are french, one for all: Charles Baudelaire. And there’s just one little thing more, that wasn’t exactly my first thought when I decide to make this tattoo, but came into my mind a little later. First text of my favorite couple in my favorite series was ‘courage’, and I was so happy when I’ve realized it (I’m talking about Kurt and Blaine in Glee)!

P.S. Follow me on Bloglovin, Instagram and Twitter, if you’ll tell me I’ll be happy to follow you back!

Courage. Il mio primo tatuaggio. Ho sempre creduto che se scrivi o disegni qualcosa sul tuo corpo per il resto della tua vita deve avere un significato immenso per te. Forse non immediato per chi lo vede, ma decisamente parte della tua vita. Cosa significa questo tatuaggio per me? Beh, ho passato un bruttissimo periodo. Ho perso la fiducia nel mondo che mi circondava e anche se ero completamente sicura di quanto io fossi formidabile, ero spaventata da tutto il resto. Sono passata attraverso ansia e insonnia e per un lungo periodo mi sono tenuta tutto dentro. Poi un giorno mio papà mi ha vista piangere per un esame che avrei avuto il giorno seguente, un’esame molto ben preparato credetemi, e mi ha guardata negli occhi e mi ha detto semplicemente ‘sei la più coraggiosa che io conosca’. Questo mi ha scossa. E’ stato come se tutto quello che fino ad ora mi aveva obbligata a non pensare lucidamente fosse scomparso. E ho ricordato. Ho ricordato tutto le cose che avevo passato nelle mia vita, molte difficili, e come ogni volta io ce l’abbia fatta da sola, o meglio io e il mio coraggio. Non mi vedrete mai chiedere aiuto e in quel momento ho capito perchè, perchè sono cosciente del mio grande, immenso coraggio che è capace di farmi sentire come se potessi fare qualsiasi cosa. Quindi questa è la motivazione più grande per il mio tatuaggio. L’ansia è un mostro, e non morirà mai, quindi un giorno, se dovesse tornare, mi basterà guardarmi allo specchio per vincere di nuovo. Ma non è solo questo. C’è altro dentro questo tatuaggio. Partiamo dalla lingua: mi piace il fatto che si possa leggere sia in inglese che francese, ma per me è più in francese. Perchè? Perchè volevo celebrare anche il mio grande amore per Parigi e la Francia in generale, una terra che conosco molto bene. Non ricordo nemmeno quante volte ci sono stata, ed è anche per questo che la chiamo la mia seconda casa. Come forse avete letto nei miei post su Parigi, ogni volta che ci vado mi innamoro di più della volta prima e mi perdo completamente in un mondo magico, romantico e artistico che solo lì posso trovare, dimenticandomi completamente della ‘vita vera’. E cosa dire del francese? Lo parto e leggo bene e anche se al liceo lo odiavo, dopo il diploma ho capito che la sola che odiavo era la mia prof, e me ne sono innamorata. E devo onestamente dirvi che alcuni dei miei scrittori e poeti preferiti sono francesi, uno fra tutti: Charles Baudelaire. E c’è anche un’altra piccola cosa, che non è stato il mio primo pensiero quando ho deciso di farmi questo tatuaggio, ma è arrivata un po’ dopo. Il primo messaggio della mia coppia preferita del mio telefilm preferito è stato ‘courage’, ed ero molto felice quando me lo sono ricordato (parlo di Kurt e Blaine in Glee)!

P.S. Seguitemi su Bloglovin, Instagram e Twitter, se me lo farete sapere sarò felice di ricambiare!

 photo DSCN2178_zps5266a060.png

 photo DSCN2180_zpsb24d397a.png

6 thoughts on “Courage

Lascia un commento